history
texttop
bgtext

THE HISTORY OF DARLING

At the start of the 18th century some 29 farmers occupied farms in the Darling area. Langfontein was one of these farms. Years later, the Darling Village Trustees Board succeeded in buying the Langfontein farm on 12 February 1853 for 50 000 guilder or 1 250 pounds. It was on this farmland where the village and church were founded. Darling was named after Charles Henry Darling who came to the Cape as Lieutenant Governor in 1851.

Travellers through Darling were always overwhelmed by the tapestry of flowers covering the fields surrounding Darling during springtime. James Backhouse wrote in 1840, “ There are no wild flowers like those at Darling”. In 1915 Mrs Suzanne Malan, the wife of the local minister and Mr Frederick Duckitt of Waylands founded the Darling Wildflower Society and the renowned annual Darling Wildflower Show has been held virtually every year since its inception in 1917.


background